

Arizona School for the Arts

Governance Committee Meeting Minutes

Friday, December 1, 2023 at 8:00 a.m. <u>Zoom Meeting</u>: 864 6975 9102 <u>Passcode</u>: 508904

Attendance (Voting Members in Bold)

Betty Hum, Committee Chair	Р	Michelle Buckley	P	John O'Neal	Α
Nonnie Shivers	P	Ed Novak	А	Leah Fregulia, Head of School/CEO	Р

Agenda Items

Topic: Faculty Contracts

Nonnie will lead us in a review of the proposed contract revisions

Schedule for approval:

- January Board meeting (January 22nd)
- Letters of Intent out January 22nd and returned by February 5th
- Contracts out February 12th and returned by February 27th

| Topic: Board Cultivations and Onboarding

Review the new board member onboarding process.

Assign mentors for new board members:

- Carrie Larson
- Lorisa Pombo
- Leola Abraham
- Annette Zinky

Proposed Leadership Slate for FY25:

- Heidi Jannenga President,
- Allison Otu Vice President
- Betty Hum Secretary Treasurer

Building the Pipeline

Minutes

The meeting began at 8:00 a.m.

Faculty Contracts

Nonnie Shivers reviewed the current employee agreement for enforceability and to update certain provisions. The primary purpose of the review was to ensure that the restrictive covenants are enforceable and reflect teacher concerns about creative works and ownership of intellectual property.

Additionally, the Committee will perform a quick review of the Employee Handbook to ensure no duplication and that provisions that should be in contract are in the contract and not duplicated in the Employment Handbook. In the future, the Committee will perform reviews of agreements and handbooks for content duplication, enforceability (updating provisions).

Board Cultivations and Onboarding

New Board Members

Betty Hum, David Garcia, and Leah Fregulia will work on preparing an agenda and slide presentation for a new board member orientation to be scheduled for January.

Leadership Slate

The proposed leadership slate for 2024-2025 is: Heidi Jannenga, President; Alison Otu, Vice President; Betty Hum, Secretary/Treasurer. John Snider will remain Chair of the Finance Committee until his term ends.

Member Pipeline

Members will be rolling off the Board at the end of 2024-2025 while other members may be in flux due to professional commitments, potentially bringing the Board down to 11 or 12 members. The Committee is currently vetting some prospective candidates with experience in finance, construction, and non-profit organizations.

The meeting ended at 8:45 a.m.